Where do I refer to for Title or License Registration?
For state Title and License Information, refer to:
Iowa Office of Vehicle Registration
P.O. Box 9278
Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9278
Telephone: (515) 237-3055
Fee for search of records is $0.50 per inquiry.
Shown on title held by lienholder.
Per the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) adopted in July, 1966: with Recorder of Deeds of county where buyer resides: if non-resident, in any county where property is located.
As per the UCC, repossession is allowed and permitted as long as it is peaceful, and it is after a Twenty Day Right To Cure Letter from lienholder to debtor.
May be made prior to resale or contract to resell.
Permitted after sale.
Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:
Security interest noted on the certificate of title. Title certificates issued by the County Treasurer of owner’s county of residence and retained by secured party until satisfied.
Documents Required to Transfer Ownership of Motor Vehicle:
Iowa title certification and affidavit of foreclosure of security interest. All other titles must be reduced to lienholder’s name.
Documents Required for Liquidation:
Title, Affidavit of Repossession. Do not release lien on title.
Remain with the owner if another vehicle is purchased within 30 days, the plates can be put on that vehicle, provided the fees are paid on the replacement vehicle. If a replacement vehicle is not purchased, plates must be turned into the county treasurer.
QuickRepo.com does not warrant the accuracy of these laws. The laws listed on QuickRepo.com are only a starting point for reference, and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or state if you have any questions about repossession service there. All recovery requirements and fees are current as of 2002.
View repo laws at RepoLaws.info and repossession laws at RepossessionLaws.info