California Repossession Laws / Recovery Requirements

Quick Answers:


California DMV

Vehicle Registration Operations
Department of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 942869
Sacramento, CA 94269-0001

Telephone Number: 1-800-777-0133

Additional Laws and Codes:


Are Repossessions Allowed?

Yes, as long as there is no breach of peace.


Security Interests:

Shown on title. Held by lienholder.


Recovery Agent Licensing:

Repossession agencies must be licensed with the State.


Redemption Requirements:

There is a 15-day period where the debtor has a right to redeem with an option for a 10-day extension.


Deficiency Balance:

Only collectible after public or private sale.


Title State:

Required for all vehicles that are moved or driven on highways. Mobile homes that are affixed to a foundation are exempt.



Remain with the vehicle unless they are personalized plates. does not warrant the accuracy of these laws. The laws listed on are only a starting point for reference, and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or state if you have any questions about repossession service there. We are not responsible for any inaccuracies or any actions taken by anyone following the information listed here.

View repo laws at and repossession laws at

Repo Company Directory is the Internet's largest directory of repossession companies and recovery experts. If you need a repo man or repo company, this is the place to find one.

Find a Repo Man is here to help you get the repossession, recovery, and legal support you need, quickly and easily.

Repossession Companies